Google adds option to auto-delete browser and location history data

Google is rolling out a new feature that will give users the option to automatically delete their browser and location history after three months.

Google already allows users to manually delete the data it gathers from them when they use products such as YouTube, Maps, and Search.

But now it is trying to give users more control by offering them the option to delete their personal after three or 18 months. Their data will be automatically deleted from their account after a period of time, according to the company.

The new auto-delete feature is set to roll out in the coming weeks, the company said in a blog post.

The introduction of the auto-delete feature comes amid growing scrutiny of how Google collects data. In November, it was accused of tracking people’s location even they turned off their location history.

And earlier last month, Google said human reviewers listened to voice recording from its Home speaker and Assistant app.

Currently, Google allows users to disable their location or browsing history by pausing location history on their devices.

But in the coming weeks, it will soon offer the option to have this data automatically deleted.

However, it will not offer automatic deletion of YouTube watch history or voice commands issued through their Home and Assistant app.

, , ,

Related Posts

Menu