Telegram improves privacy with ‘Unsend Anything’

Telegram, the cloud-based messaging service, has announced that it has updated its ‘unsend’ feature to allow users to delete or remove private chat sessions from all devices involved.

The feature, which was first introduced in 2017, used to only allow users to delete messages that were sent within a 48-hour time limit.

Privacy

To further protect users’ privacy, Telegram will now allow you to delete any message sent or received from both sides in any private chat.

“Today, we are giving hundreds of millions of users complete control of any private conversation they have ever had,” Telegram said. “You can now choose to delete any message you have sent or received from both sides in any private chat. The messages will disappear for both you and the other person – without leaving a trace.”

Telegram’s main messaging service is connected to the Telegram cloud and offers end-to-end encryption for its ‘secret chats’ feature.

It also offers a self-destruct feature that allows you to set a timer for deleting messages.

The end-to-end chat feature is not part of the cloud and is device-based, which ensures that messages are not stored on the company’s servers.

Forwarded messages

Telegram also introduced a new setting that allows users to restrict their messaging. In the app’s Privacy and Security setting, you will be able to use a new feature called ‘Forwarded messages’, which allows you to restrict who can view your profile photos and prevents any forwarded messages from being traced back to your account.

Other features announced include a setting and emoji search field and the VoiceOver on iOS and TalkBack on Android accessibility features.

Related Posts

Menu